The Boy Who Loves Too Much

Standard

The boy who loves too much made me cry today.

They mean love

I find his story a brave one, not because he can face one thousand humiliations with loving heart but because he chose to stay for the sake of his siblings. My story could be sad, losing my mother very early and living an unstable existence. He has a choice, he can leave and be free. He has a job that could sustain him but what is a free life when he knows his siblings go to school everyday with an empty stomach, that his Mother just do not care enough to make sure she stops pro-creating after her 11th child was born?

How did he make me cry? First off, he did not intentionally narrate to me his story. He came in late for work, 15 minutes at that. My staff asked his Immediate Superior why and the Supervisor said “he gave me a reason and I allowed it”. Part of my job is to balance power and fairness so I told the Superior what makes that Tardiness reasonable? And although he was bound by the promise he gave to his subordinate, he handed me his 1/4 size paper of explanation, handwritten and concise in its content.

“He walked hundreds of kilometers going to work today because his “drugs dependent” father stole his money. My initial reaction was of course of anger towards his father, I’ve known his story ever since but I did not realize that his situation is to that extreme. I told him to leave his family, his irresponsible father and mother. Teary-eyed he told me he wanted to but he can’t, although he is suffering from too much pain and agony and has been carrying the burden of providing for his family for so long he still prays that his father will change one day not for him but for his siblings. There are just too many of them, and he is the eldest.”

I told him that he deserves a good life, to be happy but he refused to believe that. How can he be happy when his little brothers and sisters do not have anything to survive day in and day out. My heart shouted “me either”! I cannot even bear the sight of the hungry kids asking for alms on the streets much more those kids close to my heart. I wanted to hug him but I do not want him to feel I pity him. I do not pity him, I pity myself. I salute his boldness in facing life’s adversities with so much hope and all I do is complain and dream I can buy me a gadget! He never even complained and does not want me to have the impression that he wants to be treated differently and get away with his tardiness.

I just happen to be a human being, I can’t help but feel bad. He deserves a good life. He is a good person. Then maybe, it’s what makes him different. He just happens to be someone with so much love in his heart. I pray his heart can sustain whatever it is he’s going through-forever!

 

Leave a Reply

